Geophysical Centre in Dourbes

Doors Open Days 2024

Date & Location

  • 12, 14 and 15 September 2024
  • Entrance of the Geophysical Centre: 1 rue du Centre Physique, B-5670 Dourbes (Viroinval)

Programme

12 September          Café scientifique 18:15 - 20:15 h
13 September Official opening, not publicly accessible
14 September               Guided tours  10:00 - 16:30 h          
14 September Café scientifique 19:00 - 21:00 h
15 September Guided tours  10:30 - 16:20 h

 

Guided tours

The Geophysical Center at Dourbes organising his doors open event. For this occasion, on 14 and 15 September guided tours are organized in the geophysical research centre of the RMI in Dourbes (part of Viroinval, province of Namur). Here, research is being done concerning earth magnetism, the ionosphere and related phenomena. A tour takes about two hours. The number of places is limited, advance registration is therefore required. Guided tours are available in Dutch and in French.

Café scientifique

On Saturday 14 September, at 19:30, a “Café Scientifique” will be organised. The “Café” aims to give explanations, in laymen’s terms, of selected scientific topics by the scientists of Dourbes, and open up possibilities to start discussions on these topics. For this, a tent will be transformed into a local pub, with the intend to discuss scientific topics outside their traditional academic context. The scientific topics will be limited to the domains of the scientists: geomagnetism, paleomagnetism and the ionosphere.

Examples of possible topics are :

  • What is the practical use of the knowledge of the earth magnetic field ?
  • Does the earth magnetic field impact the climate ?
  • Can the magnetic field inverse ? If so when will this happen ?
  • What are cosmic rays ? What is their influence  ? Where do they come from ?
  • How does a GPS function ? What is impact of the ionosphere on a GPS system ?

A “Café” would not be a proper “Café” if there wasn’t something to drink, so drinks will be provided for all participants. For the hungry among us, we will have the opportunity to taste authentic “Belgian” fries.

The "Café Scientifique" will be in French. Registrations for the "Café Scientifique"

Inscriptions for guided tours

Available in Dutch and in French.

  • The dutch inscription form can be found here
  • The french inscription form can be found here

Read more

Cookies saved

Centre de Physique du Globe de Dourbes

Journées Portes Ouvertes 2024

Date & Location

  • 12, 14 and 15 septembre 2024
  • Entrée du Centre de Physique du Globe: 1 rue du Centre Physique, B-5670 Dourbes (Viroinval)

Programme

12 septembre         Café scientifique 18:15 - 20:15 h
13 septembre Ouverture officielle, non accessible au public
14 septembre              Visites guidées 10:00 - 16:30 h
14 septembre Café scientifique 19:00 - 21:00 h
15 septembre Visites guidées  10:30 - 16:20 h

 

Visites guidées

Le Centre de Physique du Globe de Dourbes organise ses portes ouvertes. A cette occasion, les 14 et 15 septembre, des visites guidées sont organisées dans le centre de recherche géophysique de l'IRM à Dourbes (commune de Viroinval, province de Namur). On y mène des recherches sur le magnétisme terrestre, l'ionosphère et les phénomènes connexes. La visite dure environ deux heures. Le nombre de places étant limité, il est nécessaire de s'inscrire à l'avance. Les visites guidées sont disponibles en français et en néerlandais.

Café scientifique

Le samedi 14 septembre, à 19h30, un "Café scientifique" sera organisé. Le "Café" a pour but de donner des explications, en termes simples, sur des sujets scientifiques sélectionnés par les scientifiques de Dourbes, et d'ouvrir des possibilités d'entamer des discussions sur ces sujets. Pour ce faire, une tente sera transformée en pub local, avec l'intention de discuter de sujets scientifiques en dehors de leur contexte académique traditionnel. Les sujets scientifiques seront limités aux domaines des scientifiques : le géomagnétisme, le paléomagnétisme et l'ionosphère.

Voici quelques exemples de sujets possibles :

  • Quelle est l'utilisation pratique de la connaissance du champ magnétique terrestre ?
  • Le champ magnétique terrestre a-t-il un impact sur le climat ?
  • Le champ magnétique peut-il s'inverser ? Si oui, quand cela se produira-t-il ?
  • Que sont les rayons cosmiques ? Quelle est leur influence ? D'où viennent-ils ?
  • Comment fonctionne un GPS ? Quel est l'impact de l'ionosphère sur un système GPS ?

Un "Café" ne serait pas un vrai "Café" s'il n'y avait pas quelque chose à boire, donc des boissons seront fournies à tous les participants. Pour les plus affamés d'entre nous, nous aurons l'occasion de déguster d'authentiques frites "belges".

Inscriptions Café Scientifique.

subsite.readmore

Cookies enregistrés