Print

Division geomagnetic observations and instruments

Contents[Hide]

 

For pratical use and scientific research, Belgium must know the value of continuous variations and the geomagnetic field.This is one case for magnetic declination: it is used to find the direction of north with the compass. This is done using the Magnetic Observatories of Dourbes and Manhay. A complete measure of geomagnetic vector is recorded every minute.

Main Activities

In addition to themeasurements done in an observatory, there are frequently measurements done on the field all over Belgium. Upon request, field measurements can be requested outside Belgium. Everything is reported  using the International System of Units (SI) and magnetic measurements are accomplished with a precision of 0.1nT for magnetic inductions and 0.001° for angles. The Observatory at Dourbes disposes of a diverse range of geomagnetic instrumentations. We develop, realize, test and calibrate small series of geomagnetometers: optically pumped magnetometer, proton and fluxgate variometer DIDD, Difluxes (automatic) and North Seekers.
The magneticnon-polluted environment at Dourbes makes 
it into the ideal place to test the amagnetism of  materiels that can be used in industrial or research products.

On a regularly base, the Earth's magnetic field is calculated and published in annual reports. These results are recorded in international databases and at the RMI. They are also available online in quasi real time on the INTERMAGNET site. Besides the permanent record of the  earth magnetic field, we calculate and publish also the magnetic activity indices on the ISGI site.

Measurement instruments

Contact person

Chef de section - Dr. Jean Rasson

Tél. : +32-(0)60 39 54 42
Fax : +32-(0)60 39 54 23
Courriel : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Imprimer

Section d'observations et instruments géomagnétiques

Sommaire[Masquer]

 

Tant pour des besoins pratiques que pour la recherche scientifique, la Belgique doit connaître de façon continue la valeur et les variations du champ géomagnétique. C'est entre autres le cas pour la déclinaison magnétique: elle est utilisée pour trouver la direction du Nord à l'aide de la boussole. On utilise pour cela les Observatoires Magnétique de Dourbes et Manhay qui sont repris dans la liste des observatoires de l'IAGA. Une mesure complète du vecteur géomagnétique est enregistrée chaque minute.

Activités principales

En plus des mesures en observatoire, des campagnes de mesure couvrant tout le territoire belge sont menées régulièrement. Sur demande, des mesures peuvent aussi être faites à l'étranger. Nous utilisons exclusivement les unités du Système International (SI) et notre niveau de précision est de 0.1 nT pour les inductions magnétiques et de 0.001° pour les angles. L' Observatoire de Dourbes dispose d'un atelier d'instrumentation géomagnétique. Nous développons, réalisons, testons et calibrons de petites séries de géomagnétomètres: magnétomètres à pompage optique et à protons, variomètres fluxgate et DIDD, Difluxes (automatiques) et North Seekers.
Notre environnement magnétique non-pollué à Dourbes permet de tester l'amagnétisme rigoureux de composants pour l'industrie et les utilisateurs académiques.

Des séries temporelles du champ géomagnétique sont publiées sous forme d'annuaires et sont gardées dans les banques de données internationales et de l'IRM . Ils sont egalement disponibles online et en temps quasi réel via  INTERMAGNET. A coté d'enristrement permanent du champs magnetique, on publie les indices d'activité magnétique sur le site de l'ISGI.

Instruments de mesure

 

Personnes de contact

Chef de section - Dr. Jean Rasson

Tél. : +32-(0)60 39 54 42
Fax : +32-(0)60 39 54 23
Courriel : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.